Sharing Our Stories

It has been an amazing last couple of weeks for me. I have been able to have a lot of folks interested in what my opinion is…alot of people are becoming more aware, and more willing to work with AYO!, and I have had an immense amount of support from my friends in various forms of media. Coming up, there are only going to continue to be more opportunities for me to share my story, and hopefully, capitalize and use the momentum that has been created to help AYO, to help our Bell Tower movement, and help show the young people from our community that they have the power to change things, a little at a time.

TEDxManitoba

For starters, on Feb. 9, 2012 myself and one of my partners in crime Kale Bonham, were able to speak at the event TEDxManitoba: (What)if(x). I was able to share a bit of my story, and something that has become critical to the work that I do, and the life that I live. The importance of my culture, heritage and traditions. It is possible to re-connect to our history, and in doing so, create opportunities to grow and shape our own futures. Thank you to the entire group of people that have supported this initative across the province.

Every Day Heroes Global National

Yesterday, I was featured on Global National as they re-launched their Every Day Heroes news story. They followed me around one day, and were able to talk to a few of the people that I have worked with, highlight a couple initatives I am involved with. They said some amazing things and were even able to give props to one of my heroes, my grade 4 teacher Ms Holmes, who, in my opinion, saved my life.

If you have watched these videos, or ready any of my blogs, I want to thank you. You have inside of you the ability to take the crapiness in your reality, and turn it into opportunity. You have the ability to create HOPE out of Hopelessness. If I can do it, you can do it.

MC on Global

Sharing Our Stories

Sharing our stories is how we grow. Sharing our stories is how we learn. Recognizing our own weaknesses, and challenges allows us to move forward, allows us to heal. Many people have been sending me messages of support, and it is only fair, that I relay what those messages have been. Keep Going. Changes ARE Happening. We can do this….together.

Ekosi

MC

What do YOU think?!

