Dear Relative

​Dear relative
I wanted to send you this note to tell you how thankful I am to have had you in my life. Thank you for giving me permission be proud of who I was, for reminding me to love my family and to be thankful for the places that I come from. Thank you for sharing the teachings with me that have helped me to strive for balance and integrity in my work and in my relationships with others.

Thank you for forgiving me when I make mistakes and for continuing to remind me of things more than a couple times. But mostly I want to say thank you for being in my life; I am a better person because you were in it.

To those who stayed, kinanaskomitin for not leaving us behind – you better believe we know what that emptiness is like. Your continued presence is a reminder of who we want to be some day. Relationship permanence is more than a title or a job to you – and we are learning from your example.

To those who had to leave; we understand. This is heavy work for you and we know that you will always be where you feel you are needed most; for us though, this is life. No matter how hard it gets, we will never have the luxury of walking away. Just know your positive example has already set in and we appreciate you for what you were able to share.

If we make mistakes or disagree with you: remember that it is because you taught us not to be silent. You reminded us to share our perspective even if it feels like ‘the hard way’. Please remember: just because we disagree with you it doesnt mean we don’t love you.

I believe we can all work, play and live together if only we communicate as clearly as we can, admit our own shortcomings and pay attention to those who came before us.

Dear relative, thank you for your example.

What do YOU think?!

