Chester & Chris

If you or someone you know is struggling with thoughts of suicide please reach out. 

Manitoba Suicide Line 1-877-435-7170

Kids Help Phone 1 800-668-6868

——-

I first met you in my teenage years – when the world was confusing and everything felt like it was changing so fast. Relationships, emotions, school, friends, family, self discovery and rage. I couldn’t find the words to express myself, until I heard your music. It made me feel. It helped me let the tears out. It helped me find the words to describe my pain or confusion or hopefulness. It helped me vent my feelings. It helped me talk to my friends about my feelings. It helped me. “Somewhere I Belong”, Linkin Park’s collaboration with Jay Z was amazing, Chester’s story and ability to emote made him and their music so relatable to so many. Chris and Soundgarden defined an era of grunge, Audioslave was/is my favourite supergroup (shout out to Rage Against the Machine), his collaboration with Timbaland was wierd but fun.

And now you’re both gone.

Too soon and in such a devastating fashion. On the day Linkin Park’s new video was released and also Chris Cornell’s birthday. Death by suicide affects too many. And knowing how you impacted me and so many in my circle, I can see clearly the hurt and confusion that we now need to express. In this moment of loss and confusion and sadness we all need to remember what you taught us. Be Yourself. Break(ing) the Habit. “I won’t be ignored”. “Arm yourself because no one else here will save you”. I don’t know what more to say other than I am grieving along with all of their fans. But it reminds me that it is more important than ever to surround ourselves with messages of hopefulness. It is important to acknowledge and express our pain – but we cannot stay there. We have to move beyond the hurting to the healing. In the words of Chris Cornell in a solo release from March 2017, “I promise to survive, persevere and thrive.”

Untitled design

If you or someone you know is struggling with thoughts of suicide please reach out. 

Manitoba Suicide Line 1-877-435-7170

Kids Help Phone 1 800-668-6868

 

What do YOU think?!

